top of page
Search

Book Review- Song For A Whale



Hello Ocean Heroes! Today I am here with a book review for a really good book I read recently! So let's get into the review!



The story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him.


From fixing the class computer to repairing old radios, twelve-year-old Iris is a tech genius. But she's the only deaf person in her school, so people often treat her like she's not very smart. If you've ever felt like no one was listening to you, then you know how hard that can be.


When she learns about Blue 55, a real whale who is unable to speak to other whales, Iris understands how he must feel. Then she has an idea: she should invent a way to "sing" to him! But he's three thousand miles away. How will she play her song for him?


-Goodreads




First of all, I loved the characters and Iris's family dynamic! And I really loved the plot! It was really interesting to learn more about the Deaf community and whales as well. There's a note in the back of the book that says what information in the book was true and what wasn't, and that was interesting to read as well!


Some parts, however, weren't that realistic. Iris was literally giving up everything to see this whale, and putting myself in her shoes, I just didn't think I would take those measures. It also kept going back between middle grade and just a tad of fantasy, though I didn't mind it that much. I mean, I love fantasy XD


Even though I loved the plot, it did remind me of two other books where the characters just HAD to go find someone or something, and risked everything to do so. See if you can guess what those two books are XD (I'm not hinting at anything, I just want to see if anyone can guess)


As far as the ocean-y-ness (XD) of this book goes, it actually does have really interesting (And most of it is true!) information about whales. Check out the back of the book for explanation on what information in the book is true and what isn't!


So, long story short, this book had a really good meaning, and it's very unique! I would really like to see more books about Deaf people out there, because I learned so much about sign language and the Deaf community, as well as the whales! I would definitely recommend!



And that's that!





What did you think of the review? Are you planning to check out Song For A Whale? Tell me down below in the comments!



19 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page